Upper Baghjaghaz is located on the way to Bassit about 4kms after Ajam, on the northern slope of the mount Selderan. Its unique location overlooks the whole regain of Bassit. The village was found sometime in the middle of the 19th century. The first dwellers of the village were the families of the Sarmazian lineage. The other families dwelling in the village settled there at the beginning of the 20th century. These families were namely the Karaian, Chaparian, Halwajian and Karabedirian families.
Although the villagers had joined the fugitives from the other villages in 1909, they were spared from the Turkish tyranny, and they returned to the village after few days following the plunder.
In 1911, the village consisted of 22 houses.
In 1915, the villagers were deported with the villagers of Iki-Zoloukh. The census carried out in 1920 indicates that 14 families were present in the upper Baghjaghaz at that time.
During the region of the Hattai Turkish government, upper Baghjaghaz became a resort to those wanted by the Turkish authorities. Between 1919 and 1922, many leaders of the national union and prior volunteered soldiers with their families found refuge in both upper and lower Baghjaghazes.
In 1947, 81 individuals repatriated to Armenia.
In 1955, a survey in the village indicated the presence of 41 individuals.
Currently, 9 families dwell in the village. Part of them move to Kessab and Lebanon during winter.
The following schools were active in the village:
a- the Armenian evangelical primary school (1856-1967). It was a division of the school of Iki-Zoloukh. The graduated students used to attend the main school in Kessab. After returning from the genocide, the school was reopened and functioned as a division of the united national school until 1932 when the armenian evangelicals took charge of the school once again.
b- The Latin’s school (1930-1947) which was also known as the school of the Armenian catholic community.